Kalu Visits Yar’Adua, Renews Race For Aso Rock In 2011

Former governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu, on Tuesday visited President Umaru Yar’Adua at the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja, to inform him of his intention to re-contest the presidency in 2011.

This is in spite of Kalu’s current travails in the hands of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Emerging from the two-hour closed door meeting with Yar’Adua, Kalu told reporters that while he has never brought up the issue of his corruption trial by EFCC with the president, he is still ever ready to wrestle power from Yar’Adua, who he described as “my elder brother”.

Kalu said the President could count on his support as long he stuck to his pledge of governing the nation through the rule of law.

He said he has volunteered himself to the EFCC and would lawfully contest the case to its legal conclusion.

Asked what he particularly made of the case with the anti-corruption body, he replied: “I don’t think anything about it; it is in the court of competent jurisdiction. I will drag it to the last court. I believe in the rule of law”.

Pointing out that he came back from the United States on his own accord after the EFCC filed the case against him, he stressed that “I want it to be on record that all through my period of coming to this place (Aso Rock), I have never discussed my problem with EFCC with Yar’Adua and I want you to note that and it is the truth.

“He can tell you that I have never in my life discussed my stewardship in Abia. We only discuss how the country can be moved forward, and that is all I stand for,” Kalu added.

– Daily Independent

Leave a Reply

